• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Scare of my life.

Hello everyone, first time poster here long time Crohn's patient.

Anyhow I lost my job in the beginning of 2012 and therefore my medical insurance. I thought no big deal, seeing as i have extensive experience in my field and thought I could get a new job quickly and resume my medical care and prescriptions. Wrong! The economy is rough out here.

Much of 2012 was without my meds, which was Asacol at the time. Around September I started getting new symptoms that many others have had, just not me until now. PAIN! holy cow it felt like I was being repeatedly stabbed in my belly. I started taking whatever medication I could scrounge up for pain like norco or percocet, because the pain I was experiencing was that bad. I was able to secure a job but sadly had to quit as with the pain and cramping, I simply couldn't make it to work. Also, when the pain started so came along the nausea, vomiting, and weight loss. Since September 2012, I have lost about 57 pounds, I am now down to a paltry 150 for my height of 6'.

Thankfully my lovely fiance has added me to her medical plan in January and i was able to resume my asacol and get pain support. In February i decided i needed a new Gastro doctor as i felt that my original doctor wasn't a good fit, so i got an appointment and went to see my new doc. He ordered an abdominal CT scan, the results came back a week later: significant inflammation was reported as noticed between a 2007 ct scan and the current one. I went in for another CT scan for my pelvic region on the 1st of this month. Now here is where things get interesting.