• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Just joined, dropping in to say hi and share my story

I found this site while researching Humira as my new GI wants me to start it right away.

I got diagnosed in 2008 right before I graduated from high school. My symptoms started about a year before I was diagnosed. I had occasional diarrhea and passed small amounts of blood but was in no pain so I couldn't convince my parents to take me to a doc. That changed when I developed an abscess. Went to a relative who was a colorectal surgeon he found that it was a fistula that had abscessed and I promptly had a fistulotomy. That never healed up and after about 5 months of trying different things to get it to heal he final decided to do a colonoscopy but didn't go into my terminal ileum and didn't find inflammation. So he referred me to a different colorectal surgeon but he couldn't see me for a month. During that month I had a kidney stone, passed a lot of blood, and started having more pain. Got told that it sounded like Crohn's and I needed to go to a GI. Got to my first GI and he ordered a Barium X-ray, blood tests, and another colonoscopy. All tests showed that I had Crohn's and I was put on Prednisone, Imuran, and pentasa. I absolutely hated Pred I got all of the side effects insomnia, moodiness, weight gain, moon face, (osteopenia any longer and it would have been osteoporosis) I swore I would never take Pred again, but it did get me into remission.