• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New to Crohn's

Hello! I'm a newbie. I was just diagnosed with Crohn's in February of this year. I received the diagnosis after receiving surgery to remove part of my colon. As a result, Ginger, my stoma, became part of my life! If all goes as planned, we plan the reversal surgery on 10/31. I'm keeping my fingers crossed! So needless to say, I'm learning lots about Crohn's and my stoma. It's AMAZING how much better I feel after surgery! This is the really, really short version of my story.

Thank you!! I'm keeping my fingers crossed! Things that used to trigger me before surgery, no longer do, so I'm still in the experimenting phase with food. (And trying to gain wait...I lost tons of weight as a result of my illness).

nogutsnoglory

I'm so happy to hear that the surgery has improved the quality of your life. I like the fact that you named your stoma. Any backstory for calling her ginger or making her a female stoma lol?