• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New to crohns, YAY!!!

hi,
im new to crohns/UC. the docs wont pin it down. i went to the hospital in march of 2013. i had to stay 4 days to get situated. as im learning about this disease, i find that there is no hard and fast rules. so far, the only thing that has worked for me is prednisone and it causes other problems. my GI wants me to go on a drug that my insurance wont cover, and wont give me a variance and its just too expensive to afford myself.
ive had addiction problems in the past and ive cleaned up, started my own business and im doing super good.. then this comes along. its pretty annoying. it feels like i need to go through 2/3 weeks of prednisone to get a week of strength. ive put my general manager in charge of my business so that i can lower my stress level, as ive had all of my doctors state that stress causes more problems with IBD... anyway. i just wanted to introduce myself and become a part of this community.
currently on
asacol 800 HD 2pills x3 a day.
acid reducer... cant spell it.
probiotic
calcium
prednisone 30mg, this week, 20mg next week, then 10 the week after that.
mens one a day...
all i want to do is go out and ride my dirt bike, but alas thats not to be.. eating has become the enemy so its hard to eat enough to keep my energy up. uggggg... im trying to keep positive but its hard sometimes.
thanks all

Welcome to the forum! The prednisone carousel is awful, so sorry you are having trouble finding a med to help.