Share Facebook
Crohn's Disease Forum » Treatment » Imuran/Azathioprine/6-MP » Feeling terrible.. just started Azathioprine & Remicade Combo

07-15-2013, 10:07 AM   #1
gbirdsong

Feeling terrible.. just started Azathioprine & Remicade Combo

Hey there,
Thanks for taking the time to read my post..

A little about me first.. 30 year old male. I live in Phoenix, but I'm a die hard bay area sports fan. I'm a professional golfer so I'm extremely active and on the go. 6'2" 170lbs. First diagnosed with Crohns at age 15. Heavy pred for 6 months put me into remission for almost 12 years (amazing, I know).

Started taking REMICADE about 2.5 years ago (5ml per kg every 8 weeks) and my symptoms were much better and I noticed almost no side effects from the Remi. I had a bad flare up 1.5 years ago, and my doc doubled my Remi dose and put me on a 3 month pred cycle. This was right before a trip to Maui. I felt great.

So now about 6 months ago my doc performed my annual colonoscopy and still noticed lots of inflammation (terminal ileum and anal area). My doc wanted me to get a second opinion about what I should do next and I was lucky enough to see some really great docs at the UCSD health department in La Jolla, CA. They performed another series of tests back in April and diagnosed me with moderate-severe crohns in the same areas as I mentioned before. My blood had 3x the therapeutic level of Remi, so they wanted me to wait 3 months before my next dose and to cut back the Remi to my original dose (5ml per kg every 8 weeks). They also wanted me to start Azathioprine along with the Remi. Their trials showed more than 60% of their patients who mixed these drugs went into remission.