Share Facebook
Crohn's Disease Forum » General IBD Discussion » Granulomous Colitis - Crohn's Subtype?

08-04-2013, 01:14 PM   #1
pmitra0123

Granulomous Colitis - Crohn's Subtype?

My understanding is that there are subtypes of Crohn's and that one is Granulomous Colitis and that this subtype only affects the colon. Is that true? In this type of colitis, the upper GI upstream of the colon is not likely to be affected?

My disease is in the rectum, colon, and microscopically in the TI. I also have a couple of granulomas. Can I still have granulomous colitis with microscopic involvement of the TI?

Thanks!!
08-04-2013, 05:07 PM   #2
araceli
Forum Monitor

My Support Groups:
Hello. I am not a doctor. My understanding is that when Crohn's is in the large intestine is called Crohn's Colitis, Small intestine is Crohn's enteritis and usually involves the T.I when is on both the small and large intestine is called Crohn's enterocolitis. It is possible that Crohn's starts in any place of the digestive system and then move to other places, and also to have the disease everywhere. I think granulomas only appear in Crohn's and not in Ulcerative colitis. I am not a Doctor so it just my opinion. I hope someone else with more knowledge answers your question.
Current meds.
Remicade since Nov. 2012
Supplements
5000 Vit. D, Multi-Vitamins with Iron
Currently in REMISSION :dance

Mom/ 16 boy
Amplified musculoskeletal pain
Prior. Prednisone, sulfasadine,
Currently. Celebrex, gabapentin, amitriptyline.
08-04-2013, 06:09 PM   #3
Tired

My Support Groups:
Granulomatous Colitis is a Crohn's colitis. It is possible that later it extend to the TI.
08-04-2013, 06:24 PM   #4
Clash
Forum Monitor

Here is a break down the different locations and their terms: