• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Newbie here! I'm Katie, 25 :)

Finally decided to join instead of just creep on posts.
Don't have much support and could really use some!

Diagnosed UC last month after a month of bloody diarrhea and a colonscopy w/ biopsy.
GI wants me to do a mri (or whatever the donut looking machine that looks at your insides is) because of severe inflammation. She thinks I may have Crohns too. I disagree.

Currently prescribed:
20mg prednisone
4.8 Lialda
200mg Zolof, sertreline - depression anxiety since August 2012

I am using Samples though as I can't afford the $200 copay.
This week I start to taper the prednisone.
I will also be lowering my Lialda to try to make samples last longer.
Plan to drop to 2.4 starting this week :(

I only have my husband and a couple friends close by. Not close with parents. Only husbands Grandparents are in same city... but very supportive.

I have been having nonstop headaches since starting Lialda.
Body aches make for a hard time sleeping about 3-4 nights a week.
Current symptoms also include soft serve poop, lots of mucus, some blood.
Mostly body aches and headaches and some days worsening depression.

Nothing like a good kitty cuddle to make things seem somewhat better tho!

I miss my whole grains and veggies. Was a vegetarian for 5 years and very sad that most veggies are out for me now... and beans! And spice. Always loved spicy foods.
Also one beer and I'm in the bathroom for an hour! Sorry delicious microbrews.

What a rambly post. Please feel free to comment or message me or anything.
I really need some proactive, positive people in my life right now.

afidz

Super Moderator
Hello!