Share Facebook
Crohn's Disease Forum » Treatment » Low Dose Naltrexone » LDN - how do I approach my GI?

08-05-2013, 04:46 PM   #1
ChristieJP

My Support Groups:
LDN - how do I approach my GI?

Quick background: I developed gluten sensitivity (probable celiac disease) in 1998 (never biopsy tested) and have been gluten-free since then. Over the last few years, I've been having more and more digestive problems and have cut lots of things out (beans, pineapple, watermelon, most meats . . . sound familiar?) Suddenly in January, I had one bout of rectal bleeding and lots of abdominal pain in the RLQ area. I thought it was another bout of endometriosis (diagnosed in 2000; uterus and ovaries removed in 2002), but my gynecologist wanted a colonoscopy - and hey, what do you know?! It's not endometriosis at all; I have Crohn's! (diagnosed in May of 2013)

This is a very new thing for me. I am a researcher, and I don't like the drugs he immediately prescribed for me. I haven't taken them. He gave me Lialda and Uceris. Not only are these drugs VERY expensive, but they have terrible side effects and they scare me. I am not YOUNG young, but I'm only 38 and I don't want to be taking long-term type drugs that will damage my kidneys and liver and give me cancer. I know all side-effects listed on drug bottles are scary, but these are extra-scary. Plus, I don't agree at all with the typical battle plan of depressing the immune system. I think it needs to be stronger, not weaker.

I have developed a supplement protocol based on scientific studies I have read, and I have been eating low-residue (it seems to help the most so far), but my symptoms are getting worse.