Share Facebook
Crohn's Disease Forum » Support Forum » Vent Away » Work/Life Stress / off topic rant

08-22-2013, 02:42 AM   #1
Ribo

My Support Groups:
Work/Life Stress / off topic rant

I know this is way off topic but I just need to release some stress. For many this probably seems like much ado about nothing, but I suspect the added stress has impacted my CD, so maybe there's a sliver of on-topicness to this thread.

I'm a small business owner. As I've been dealing with the evolution and diagnosis (and now treatment) of my CD over the past eighteen months or so, I've also had to deal with the stress of the loss of my mom as well as the associated stress of running my business.

I came to realize that the stress of everything was basically overwhelming, and about four or five months ago decided to sell off a large part of my client base, downsize the company and basically become a one-man consultancy again. Just concentrate the business on what I enjoy and relieve the stress of worrying about employees, making payroll, dealing with dozens of clients. Basically, simplify my work life significantly.

Yesterday, after six weeks of financial discovery and research, I received an offer! It's not exactly the offer I wanted, but it's a decent offer. On effect, if everything earns out over the next couple of years, it's a zero net offer that let's me pay off all the debt we've accumulated, have a little bit of cash, and once again, simplify.

To be clear, it's not life changing money. It's not retirement money. It's a little buffer. But there's value in simplifying, right? There's value in losing the stress and shifting to what I enjoy and getting away from what I don't.

The challenge is, now, after nine years of building the business - I'm feeling some regret at the thought that I'm giving it up. Sort of like having to give up the baby, if you will.