Share Facebook
Crohn's Disease Forum » Support Forum » Mental Health Support » How to Help Someone with Crohns and Depression

08-26-2013, 09:32 AM   #1
valeriemcdonough

How to Help Someone with Crohns and Depression

A really good friend of mine was diagnosed with Crohn's last year. I went with her for her colonoscopy and learned the dreaded news. I hadn't had the opportunity to spend much time with her since - I lost my Mom, Dad moved in and my hands have been tied to spend time on really anything else. I saw my friend last evening and could only cry for her. She has lost a good amount of weight and is terribly depressed, very weak, and very meek.

The reason for my post is that I want to learn as much as I can about this dreaded disease, but even more so, what I need to do to help her.

Can you folks help me with this? Let me know your opinions for what you think is important to support her, physically, mentally and otherwise? I am new to this, but I can't stand by and watch her fall apart. How can I help her?

BTW, she is really in a bad way. She doesn't go outside anymore, doesn't drive, won't go to the grocery store, etc. She has children, so this is a big impact. Her husband is carrying the load.
08-26-2013, 11:06 AM   #2
jrtdogmom1

Help with the household chores or shopping is appreciated. Listening and hugs are great. Staying close. Join a yoga or Tai Chi class together.
08-26-2013, 11:35 AM   #3
valeriemcdonough

Thank you for this. I am really out of sorts on this.
How about emotional support? Is there anything I can be doing (besides listening, hugs, etc)?
08-26-2013, 04:08 PM   #4
jrtdogmom1

Being there is emotional support, be sure to support yourself as well, sounds like you also have stressful things to cope with.
08-27-2013, 08:23 AM   #5
JMA