• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Vegetarian w/Ulcerative Colitis

forum contributor

Captain Obvious
Hi, everybody - newbie here!

Now, this is a pain in the butt - pun intended! :tongue:

I'm a vegetarian who was (finally) diagnosed with UC this past August. I don't eat any kind of meat (I'm a lacto-vegetarian, so eggs are out, too). I've tried tofu, but I really didn't like that! I've since found Veggie Patch foods and do like those.

Here are my questions: Are any of you vegetarians/vegans? What do you eat that doesn't kill your stomach?

I found Planters Nut-rition... and although I LOVE that mix of nuts, that mix does NOT love me back! It totally killed my stomach. :arghmatey_ani:

I love fresh fruits and vegetables, salads, popcorn, nuts... stuff that vegetarians are supposed to eat, but people with UC can't.

Any help that anyone, veg or not, can give is much appreciated!!!

hey santos!
sorry im not a vegetarian but i saw that no one else has answered so i figured i would try!

i would suggest tofu, have you looked up different recepies for the tofu? my friend is a vegetarian and she said she bakes it with cumin and its tasty. i have no clue, but sounds kinda good!
what about beans? i have had chili with beans in it before and my belly has done ok.

sorry i dont have much advice. just a few thoughts. good luck!

i'm not a vegetarian, either, but i do cook for vegetarians... have you tried TVP? (textured vegetable protein - made from soy)... it's dry, you can buy it in most bulk and health food stores. when re-hydrated, it has a texture similar to ground beef and you can use it in chilis, tacos, salads, etc...