• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Home treatments for abscesses

Hello all,

I have an abscess (intent on swiftly turning into a r-v fistula) which I'm pretty much stuck with for a couple of weeks as far as getting any treatment is concerned. My GP has no clue what an abscess is, tried to tell me it was a Bartholin's cyst (a huge perianal Bartholin's cyst that drains via the butt, really?) and gave me a week of antibiotics which took the swelling down temporarily, but not much else. My gastroenterologist won't do anything until he has the results back from a pelvic CT scan I had done, which will take a couple of weeks to come through.

In the meantime, however, it really hurts! I can't sit for long, etc (I'm sure you guys know the drill). I have given it a name (Gordon) so I can curse it more effectively, but am not sure what else to do to lessen the pain/reduce the chance of the darn thing developing into a fistula. Does anyone have any OTC remedies or tips that they've used successfully before? Sitz baths are a no-no because my little house only has a shower and I live with two guys who would look askance if I took the bathroom up for fifteen minutes in order to lurk with my butt in a basin...

Oh, and I'm on Prednisolone for everything else at the moment. Only been on it a few days, not sure if it will be any help with Gordon...?