• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Treated unfair at work

After being gone all last week from work, part of it spent in the hospital again, I come back to my first day and feel like I've been treated so unfairly that I'm looking for a new job as we speak. I worked in a multi-specialty doctor's office. Basically an office made up of about 12 doctors, surgeons, physician assitistants... And then of course nurses, bussiness office workers, coders and so on. I am a nurse here and have been on almost 3 years. I have worked in almost every (nursing) area in this building and my boss uses me in various areas when she needs me to fill in for someone. My "main" job though is receiving electronic prescription refill requests and processing them (going through the protocol of labwork and appointments) and then sending them to the provider and telling them how many refills that person can have. Not a very hard job, but we have a lot of patients and it keeps me busy. Anyway, my direct boss used to have the same job I do before she got promoted to boss. When she had my job she got breat cancer. Because she wasn't able to come into work very well being sick and all they let her telecomute from home and do this job at home on the days she wasn't feeling well. Well since I have this job now, I have asked her many times starting back in December if I could telecomute and work from home on my "bad" days. I have been repeatedly told no. She says it's because it's not the "facilities policy" to do it that way and it would be a "HIPPA violation risk" if I were to have the computer at home with any patient information. I've always been a little bothered by her response since she was able to do the