• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Living with Crohn's Disease...

I was 14 years old and graduating from 8th grade when I was first diagnosed, and now, I am 24 years old. At first, the doctors could not diagnose my condition properly, so I was initially told I had Ulcerative Colitis, but after many tests, it was concluded that I had Crohn's Disease. Some of my symptoms were the following: a great loss of blood, a great loss of weight, fatigue, weakness, severe joint pain, severe abdominal pain, chronic headaches, and constant bathroom breaks.

When I was a sophomore in high school, I had the worst flare up imaginable. I had lost so much weight, I was down from 145 to 95, and I had lost so much blood, I had to have 6 blood transfusions. Everything I described above, I experienced during my first major flare up. I was hospitalized for about two weeks and had to receive home schooling because I was not able to attend classes. I was told that stress as well as my diet played a major factor in my flare up and it was true. My diet was horrible as a teenager. I was eating fried, fatty, and greasy foods, as well as spicy foods. Yes, my diet was beyond poor, unfortunately, and being stressed out about keeping my grades up added fuel to the already scorching fire. After spending two weeks in the hospital, I knew my life had to change—specifically my diet. Since my Crohn’s was not fully healed, I began to avoid onions, tomatoes, chocolate, anything with acid (lemons, pop, etc), citrus juices and fruits, anything green (lettuce, spinach, etc), spicy, fried, greasy and fatty foods, and others that I cannot think of at the moment. The reason I had to avoid anything green, such as lettuce a