• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

While I feel I have lived with this for most of my life, I am new to this condition. I just want to feel better.

I'm feeling pretty low today. This is the first forum I have ever joined.

I remember as a kid of about 8 having diarrhea, never feeling finished, on and off over the years. Needing to go but nothing happening. Skip forward to when I was 18 and suffering painful diarrhea on a regular basis. I saw a nurse who suggested I stop eating dairy and see how I felt. Well I felt a whole bunch better, but never 100% right. The times I did unintentionally eat dairy I suffered diarrhea so painful I felt like I was being cut by razor blades which made me vomit in pain for 3 days.

Over the next 15 years or so, my symptoms continued to escalate until I had a hair test done for food intolerance. My results showed I needed to avoid lots of food, dairy, wheat, soy, plus a bunch more. I stopped eating these foods and felt a whole bunch better, but still not 100% right.

Then over the next year my stomach issues escalated. I thought that I was still not eating right for my body. I had another hair test done and this showed that actually I could eat a lot of those foods now. This was really confusing as I was feeling like crap. Cramps, diarrhea. All day, every day.

Then I started to have really really painful cramps. 5 months of putting up with this I had a really bad day of pain. Nothing seemed to help. All I could do was lie on my bed and hold my stomach. It was at this point that I had to face the fact that something was wrong with me.