• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New to Crohns an wondering whats ahead

I am new to this disease diagnosed yesterday. I know now my previous habit will have to be modified. I'm goingg to pay close aattention yo commen denomitors that may lead to flares. I am curious to k ow if every flair will lead to loss of work.... I hope not.. Is every flare an infection? I don't have much for now as I'm in bed starving an in pain.. I also have diverticulosis so is it possible to have both flared at once. I m sure that would be very unpleasant.

Everyone's IBD is different and each flare can have a completely different set of symptoms so maybe you can keep working during some. Flares aren't infections, for some reason the body embarks on a sustained immune/inflammatory response in the GI tract, it might be but we're really not sure. Many of the genes implicated in Crohn's are involved in detecting and effectively eliminating bacteria from the digestive tract.

Hi Mary!

So sorry to hear about your less than desirable diagnosis, but take it from me - It's not the end of the world, although it can feel like it. The first little while can be challenging while doctors work out what meds work for you, but hang in there! It personally took me around 12 months to be stable enough to go back to work, and feel well enough to go about normal daily activities.