• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Our New Life

Hi, my name is Cara and I am new to this whole "disease" thing. My husband was diagnosed with Crohn's in May of this year and our life has been turned upside down. He was a very active person up until a year ago. His health has taken a downward turn since last summer when his first flare up occured. My family has always been very health smart and I assumed his flare up was a parasite or a valve cramping up because of his demanding work schedule. He has had loose stools, fatigue and malaise for a year now. I finally convinced him to see a health care physician in May, after three weeks of abdominal pain. Several CT scans, xrays and a colonoscopy later the GI doctor came back with Crohn's. He was immediately started on flagyl, cipro and entocort. Within two weeks, he was feeling better then he had in months. I hadn't realized how sick my husband had been until I saw how much better he felt. He has probably been feeling sick for years and because being a young man, busy supporting a family he didn't really take time to admit he was sick until it practically brought him to his knees. After the Entocort was finished the GI office put him on Pentasa and we were waiting to hear back from the insurance company about Remicade. Of course, because insurance companies are so delightful, they have denied him the Remicade and we are now looking at having to take 6MP which we are not happy about. My husband is also in the throes of another flare up because the stupid insurance company and GI office drug their feet about formalities and couldn't come to a conclusion. My hubby also has a small bowel perf. which we are waiting to get the results