• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New here, diagnosed with Crohn's 8 years ago.

Hello, I am 25, married and a stay at home mother if two. I'm also a college student currently an undergrad studying psychology.

I was diagnosed with Crohn's disease that effects my illium just before I turned 17. I would say overall my disease is mild. I do have multiple flares a year but have never required surgery or biologics. Typically a bad episode with vomiting and terrible pain will land me in the ER twice a year. They give me morphine and phenergan and send me on my way.

From about the age if 14 I have had a terrible burning nearly crippling pain in my stomach. Back then I was diagnosed with GERD and I have been on omperazole on and off ever since. It used to help but not anymore. Unfortunately, the drugs my GIs have always put me on, like Pentasa, make the burning much worse. I finally had an EGD recently and I was told I had very mild gastritis. Very mild doesn't even begin to describe the pain I have. I've given birth to two babies and labored for 16 hours with no epidural, induction both times, and was unfazed. I have a very high pain tolerance, as I'm sure the rest of you do, so if I complain, it's not mild. I changed GIs very recently because the last one ignored my complaints and insisted I keep taking Pentasa. My new GI has yet to see me and I've seen his assistant both times. She put me on lialda which has had the same effect on my gastric pain and hasn't even kept my Crohn's inflamation at bay.