• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Confused - Do I really have Crohns and IBS

Hello, I'm new to the crohn's forum.

I was diagnosed a year ago Aug 2013 with crohns. Prior to being diagnosed I was not feeling well. Running to the bathroom often. It got to the point where I would not eat all day at work, afraid of what would happen. In the beginning I would feel the urge to go, run to the bathroom but at times I couldn't. I lost 8 pounds in about 2 month or so. I had blood and mucus in stool. depending on what I ate I would get bad cramping.

I finally went to my general MD. She discovered I had an under active thyroid. With an under active thyroid I should have been gaining weight, however I lost the 8 pounds. We discussed my issues.. she sent me to a Gastroenterologist.

My gastroenterologist preformed a colonoscopy where it was undetermined crohns or colitis.
The dr began treating me with Lialda. It seem to work for a while but then I started to have the opposite issue of not going. My dr then determined it was Crohn's and IBS. We tried other things like probiotics and miralax along with Lialda.

A few months later I still was not feeling 100% plus I was having episodes of being extremely tired. Thinking it was my thyroid I was retested. Thyroid came back completely fine with meds I was taking. My dr then decided to try a different medication for crohn's. I am now on Pentasa 500mg 4 x's a day. Pentasa is a controlled release capsule. I have been on this for 3-4 months.

I still have times when I do not feel 100%. I sometimes question my dr and if what I truly have is crohns. Doe anyone have days like this?