• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Sharing some of my recipes :)

I like to cook, and of course, like to eat. After developing Crohn's, I also developed lactose intolerance (boo hoo!). It was really difficult giving up dairy (being a huge fan of ice-cream), although I can, on occasion, stomach a little of it here and there (a sliced of aged cheese, for example), but I try to stick to a dairy-free and otherwise low-residue diet, although I'm still learning.

I just thought I'd share a few recipes that I've concocted that seem pretty safe for us to eat, although everyone is different. These things don't seem to bother me, so perhaps they'd work for others as well ;) Keep in mind I am not following the SCD, and I'm not super informed about it to begin with, so these recipes probaby don't apply to that.

Baked Salmon

You'll need:

- Salmon fillet (no bones, but skin on is fine, if you like)
- Pepper (freshly cracked is always more potent, but use whichever you have)
- Seasoning salt (also called seasoned salt)
- Extra virgin olive oil

Directions: Thaw and clean fish, if needed. Pat off extra moisture from fish with a paper towel. Drizzle with oil, and rub to coat the surface of the fish. Then sprinkle with seasoning salt and pepper to taste. Seal in a foil pouch, place on a cookie sheet, and bake at 375 until cooked through- will flake easily with fork. Cooking times depend on the size/thickness of your fish.

Serving suggestions: I like to eat this with seasoned potatoes, or white rice with soy sauce :)

Chicken Soup