• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Shy Newbie needing help!

Urm hi everyone,
this is my first time on one of these thing and I don't know where or even how to begin, I'm generally a shy person and don't like to open up about how I'm feeling or my story but I guess we're all in the same boat so here it goes...

It all started in September 2012 just as I started my GCSE at school, I had this sudden outburst of back pain which made me cripple over in pain and unable to move. Anyway several weeks later and multiple trips to A&E with server stomach pain and sleepless nights the nightmare began.
It's taken over 2 years to get diagnosed with ulcerative colitis (diagnosed in February) and it hasn't been an easy ride with all different tests, medication scans and operations, I'm just glad I've and all my family around me to support me in everyday.

It's been really hard for me to accept that this is me now, I went from being really sporty and active to now having one fun day out and having to spend the next two in bed, although I hate to do that as I feel that my condition has beaten me.

This is also really hard as I am only 17 and having stated college last September I found this as a way to recreate me, as everyone from school knew me as being 'ill'. However, that was more difficult than I imagined as I couldnt go to all the parties or the trips as I couldn't keep up or face people asking me why I wasn't drinking.

I'm also really glad I've found this website as I haven't had anyone to relate to or really talk to who understands me this ordeal and it's really nice to read everyone else's stories to find out I'm not alone.