• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Does anyone have a child with a high ana and IBD?

hi, I am new to this part of the forum. To be honest I don't want any part of this one. I have Crohn's and my 7 yr old is about to get diagnosed with UC. I love genetics :ymad: Anyway when his rheumatologist got a hold of his biopsy results she ran more blood work. His ana came back positive 1:320. Everything I have read says for UC it is usually a low titered like 1:80. I just wanted some experienced opinions. From what I have seen, unless you work with doctors that actually have the diseases, they are just going on statistics like everyone else. Because I have more than one autoimmune disease, it makes me nervous for him. thanks

my little penguin

Staff member
DS does not have a high ANA
DS is 11 but was dx with crohns at age 7
No family history but gene study showed tons of crohns genes for him.

But he does have another autoimmune disorder
Juvenile spondyloarthritis associated with inflammtory bowel disease
We love DS Rheumo and GI they work as a team for DS.
Hope you get to the bottom of things soon.

Maya142

Staff member
My daughter also has JIA (juvenile spondyloarthritis specifically) and has had a positive ANA but I can't remember the exact number. In her case, her rheumatologist thought it was likely caused by the biologic she was on (Remicade I think at that time) and we watched for signs of drug-induced Lupus but she was fine.

A positive ANA is more often associated with other types of JIA (oligoarticular I believe) and SLE, not really usually with JSpA. Does he have joint pain or other symptoms of arthritis, along with his UC?