Share Facebook
Crohn's Disease Forum » Your Story » Just found out I have Crohns

07-09-2015, 08:21 PM   #1
Anthony33

Just found out I have Crohns

Hi everyone,
I wanted to share my story and find more information and support so I decided to join the forum. I have had fatigue and joint pain for the past 3-4 years. I was worked up for Lyme disease and several other things all coming out negative. It was extremely frustrating.
About 3 weeks ago I developed sharp abdominal pain above my umbilical area and eventually after 4 days went to the ER. On CT scan it showed global ileitis and there was a possibility it was Crohns. I have always had some mild discomfort and occasional pain but nothing like this. I attributed my loose formed stools to nerves about work and the stress of work. I went for a colonoscopy today and got the diagnosis of Crohns. I am going in 33 years old and I am totally overwhelmed by the diagnosis. I think part of it is because I am a nurse and have worked in the emergency room for many years as well as cardioligy and know a lot about the medical field. I go for my follow up appointment in a little over a week. Most of my inflammation was in my terminal ileum. It seems to all make sense now in regards to the fatigue and joint pain that no one could figure out. My question for everyone is how is your day to day quality of life, do many have the fatigue and joint pain I have been experiencing, and what are some good coping mechanisms you have used. My wife is a nurse as well and she is having a tough time with my diagnosis too. I think it is so great that there are so many great stories of support and treatments on here and look forward to becoming part of this group.

Anthony
07-09-2015, 09:20 PM   #2
Dan1970

Hi Anthony