Share Facebook
Crohn's Disease Forum » Your Story » Newly changed diagnosis from UC to CD

07-20-2015, 08:16 AM   #1
Sar

My Support Groups:
Newly changed diagnosis from UC to CD

Hi Everyone!
I'm new to CD as of my last colonoscopy just last week when is showed that my inflammation was more indicative to CD than UC. However, I have been diagnosed with UC for 7 years now and was doing fairly well on Azathioprine for almost two years of remission. Last September I started becoming severely fatigued and was experiencing lots of pain, which I put it off to being stressed. Than in November I went into a bad Depressive episode (figured it was stress related from my symptoms). In March I started having bouts of nausea and vomiting which got progressively worse until I was vomiting almost daily. My GI agreed that it would be good to investigate with an upper and lower scope. The upper endoscopy was clear but the colonoscopy indicated CD. As such my GI now wants to do a capsule endoscopy to look at the small intestines as he is concerned my N/V is related to CD of the small intestines.
Has anyone else experienced a change in diagnosis from UC to CD?
I'm going to have to change to a biologic either Humira or Remicade, and feedback?
Any advice on how to manage my symptoms? I'm still having n/v but not as often as I have Zofran, some diarrhea is now kicking in, blood and mucus often, abdo pain - especially after eating, and lots of weight loss! Plus still having issues with fatigue and pain which are getting worse still, but thankfully my mood has been surprisingly great thanks to the antidepressants and great support from friends and family.
P.S. - extra stressors include having to reduce my hours at work and maybe go off completely soon, and my husband and I were planning to get pregnant at the end of the year (but I have to be healthy first!)
Any extra support from others experiencing similar difficulties would be great!
07-20-2015, 08:35 AM   #2
Bunty