Share Facebook
Crohn's Disease Forum » Your Story » Bowel resection within two months of first symptoms

08-12-2015, 02:32 PM   #1
steele344

Bowel resection within two months of first symptoms

Hi
First would like to say I'm glad I found this place as it seems like a well balanced, informative and genuinely helpful site!
My story is a strange one so I'm hoping someone else has experienced something similar. Last September I started getting stomach pains which being a guy I stupidly ignored until the pain got too much I passed out. The hospital did a CT scan and the Crohn's diagnosis came back which I obviously wasn't thrilled about but as a Pharmacy student I knew that there is a lot that could be done so there was mixed emotions there. Got discharged from hospital a week later after the inflammation and infection had died down, with more follow up tests in the pipeline. However after about a month of steady improvement, the stomach pain retuned ten times worse than before. I was violently sick all night and the pain was excruciating. The hospital ran another scan and said I would have to go for an operation that day as they could see numerous blockages, abscesses, fistulas and my blood work suggested peritonitis. I had a right hemicolectomy (excuse the spelling) and ended up losing 90cm of small intestine and 20cm of large but thankfully the fantastic doctors and Wishaw General in Scotland managed to reconnect everything.
The recovery was slow but a couple of months later I went back to work and have been working full time since. I am now getting ready to return to university in September. The pathologists report suggested I'd had a leaky/burst appendix not Crohn's. Subsequent MRI's and a colonoscopy have shown my insides to be normal looking with the tiniest bit of bit of inflammation at the joins from my operation. Biopsies have confirmed a diagnosis of mild to moderate IBD.