• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New Crohn's diagnosis

Hi there, my name is Allie. I’ve been taking a look at the various posts on this forum but have yet to post anything. I’m fairly new to Crohn’s disease; I was diagnosed in September of last year and I have a lot of questions, concerns and worries about how to deal with my everyday life with Crohn’s and my prognosis in general. I would love to hear your stories and experiences with Crohn’s disease.

I often experience severe cramping, pain and diarrhea. When it gets really bad I end up staying home in bed with a heating pad on my stomach. I would love to be able to cope with the pain better so that I can go to school and work while having a flare up. Does anyone have any suggestions or pointers on how to cope with everyday pain?

My terminal ileum is affected by my Cohn’s and I came pretty close to needing a resection a few months ago. Since there are hospital stays and possible surgeries in my future, I was wondering how all of you have dealt with this. During the time I spent in the hospital around my diagnosis I was depressed and anxious and had a hard time keeping my mood and thoughts positive. Can anyone share how they have kept themselves positive during hospital stays?

Hey Allie,