Share Facebook

11-04-2015, 04:02 PM   #1
EmmyMichelleG

6mp vs Remicade

Hey guys. I'm a newbie here ( to the forum and the world of Crohn's medications) with a bit of a dilemma.

I'm currently trying to recover from my first flare up I've experienced since being diagnosed 3 years ago. My CT showed increased inflammation and we are trying to figure out a course of treatment. I have a scheduled colonoscopy next week should hopefully bring forth more results. I don't really understand much of what's happening right now anyway.

I moved states last year and have just began working with a new GI. His course of treatment recommends 30mg of prednisone for 2 months and then afterward starting 50 mgs of 6mp. Both of these drugs and their side effects are very, very concerning to me. I'm a competitive equestrian and need my energy to ride my horses and compete to the best of my abilities. I'm campaigning my horse to make international teams and cannot afford to have my energy levels compromised by 6mp...to my understanding the side effects are similar to that of a chemotherapy patient. I've had to watch my father go thru it twice now, and it's not something I wish on anybody. I work in high end sales and interact with people on a daily basis, as well as do promotional work for vendors outside of my regular job. I'm in the public eye a bit, and everything about prednisone seems to diminish your appearance and overall state of being. I have a history of depression, mood swings, insomnia and severe anxiety. It basically sounds like prednisone is going to turn me into a monster.

This being said and after me explaining this to my doctor, why would he want to put me on something that will only make me feel worse? I understand the severity of my condition but with modern medicine and technology, why wouldn't I be able to be on something like Remicade or Humira? He mentioned it but didn't seem to stand behind it too much.