Share Facebook
Crohn's Disease Forum » Treatment » Remicade/Infliximab » No Detection of Neutralizing Antibody Titer with Remicade

11-16-2015, 10:39 AM   #1
athena

No Detection of Neutralizing Antibody Titer with Remicade

Hello!

I am just looking for some advice to what is next. I just had my 4th Remicade treatment, and had to get blood work right before the infusion. My test results came back today and stated that there was no detection of Neutralizing Antibody Titer. The advice under this disheartening result was "a change to another type of therapy (not targeting TNF-alpha) may be appropriate."

I was wondering what else can be done? What other treatments are out there?

I am fairly new to Crohn's (Diagnosed December 2014). I am just so lost and confused to what is next.

Thank you all!
Athena
11-16-2015, 10:50 AM   #2
Clash
Forum Monitor

What did it state the inflixamab activity was?
dx March 2012 CD

CURRENT MEDS: MTX injections, Stelara

Dx May 2014: JSpA
8/2014 ileocecectomy
9/2017 G tube

PAST MEDS: remicade, oral mtx, humira
11-16-2015, 10:57 AM   #3
athena

Yes! It said that the activity was 4.37.. I have no idea what that even means.
11-16-2015, 11:20 AM   #4
Clash
Forum Monitor

Have you spoken to your GI yet? Do you have a follow up appt? Or plan to contact the GI nurse after results come in?

On a sample lab it did indicate transferring to a non tnf biologic is the inflixamab activity level was greater than .65 but honestly I'm not sure of the explanation.

With my son they want the level of remicade to be present and viable and the antibodies to be undetectable.

MLP do you have any insight?
11-16-2015, 11:22 AM   #5
Clash
Forum Monitor

Here's a link to sample lab results. Once on this site click on the first sample report link highlighted blue and titled interfaced report:

https://www.aruplab.com/immunology/ifx
11-16-2015, 11:26 AM   #6
athena