Share Facebook
Crohn's Disease Forum » Surgery » Just told I'm having surgery

03-24-2016, 02:36 AM   #1
TexasPete

Just told I'm having surgery

New to the forum.

I am a teacher and live in Kuwait. I was just told by my GI that I need a total proctocolectomy. Yaaaaay. I'm in the process of finding out if there are any surgeons in Kuwait capable of handing the job, or if I'll have to travel to Europe or North America. I have a few questions. Or a lot, maybe.

1) How long should I plan to miss work? I don't want to have the surgery at the beginning of summer and lose my 70 day vacation, but I also don't want to miss a whole month of work. I think if I plan well, I can arrange something in the middle of those extremes.

2) What should I expect as far as flying and travelling in the first 6 months? I didn't move to a dry country to stay in town during my breaks - will I be comfortable flying 4-6 months after surgery?

3) I saw there is a post on questions for your doctor. Can anyone think of anything else I might ask since I'm in a different country?

4) Supplies. I'm in the process of finding out what supplies are available here versus the states. It looks like I'll want to try lots of things out to find what works, but I don't know that there is much variety here. Where might I look online? I could have things shipped to my parents and forwarded to me.

I'm a bit lost as to what to do next while I wait to meet my potential surgeon (in about two weeks). I really do believe it when I read that people are generally happy about the surgery. I'm mostly concerned with the actual procedure and immediate aftermath - I'm a baby regarding pain. Particularly catheters. I'll pay extra if I can avoid those things. They're the worst.

Sorry if I posted questions I should have figured out elsewhere in the forum - I'll get the hang of it soon. Thanks in advance for any help/advice.
03-24-2016, 07:34 AM   #2
Lisa
Adminstrator

My Support Groups: