Share Facebook
Crohn's Disease Forum » Diet, Fitness, and Supplements » What am I doing wrong? All food makes me bloat

06-13-2016, 09:27 AM   #1
Misslindsey

What am I doing wrong? All food makes me bloat

I know that high fiber makes me bloat BIG TIME. I'm a thin(ner) person and if I have quinoa I look like I'm 2-3 months preggo. And in excruciating pain.

But lately, all food I eat makes me bloat afterwards. My boyfriend recommended probiotics. I have my next gastro appt in July but I'm impatient. Fruit and veggies are often a risk for pain, but usually don't give me pain(bananas do, and don't get me started on celery).

I've gained a substantial amount of weight due to a few reasons(recent dx of hypothyroidism, not very active). But my diet is not bad. I eat healthily. I am CONSTANTLY walking as I work in retail.

So, what diets can you guys recommend? I'd like to try vegetarianism but the whole fruit, veggies, grain pain. Are probiotics helpful? And yes I am being more active now. Thank you in advance!
06-13-2016, 09:57 AM   #2
InstantCoffee

My Support Groups:
Try digestive enzymes and pancreatin.
I'm my own guinea pig.
My log with studies, journal of my experiments:
http://www.crohnsforum.com/showthread.php?t=72046
My Blog
https://beyondtheoddsfitness.wordpress.com/
06-13-2016, 10:17 AM   #3
Magnolia24

My Support Groups:
I used to experience a lot of bloating when I still had Crohn's symptoms, and the Specific Carbohydrate Diet totally changed everything for me. I imagine it would be very hard to do as a vegetarian however. SCD starts with an elimination diet, then adds more foods back in. So after time, many foods that seemed triggering like fruits and vegetables can actually be tolerated because of the healing that has occurred.
Check out http://scdlifestyle.com/ if you're interested!
06-13-2016, 11:46 AM   #4
scottsma

My Support Groups:
I use a good quality digestive enzyme as InstantCoffee advised.I also use probiotics.