Share Facebook
Crohn's Disease Forum » Your Story » Fistulas are the WORST!

07-19-2017, 09:10 PM   #1
xSierra

My Support Groups:
Fistulas are the WORST!

Hey guys & gals, I am Sierra, I am 28 & I have been battleing crohns for 7 1/2 years now. It is the absolute WORST thing ever to happen to me. At 21 i went into the hospital thinking I had another kidney stone, only to find out I had 4 abscess in my small intestines, 7 days later I am diagnosed with crohns disease. 9 days after that I finally go home (after 16 days in the hospital). 6 days later I am back in the ER with 12 new abscess in my small intestines, 9 days later go home. Now both times they put some drain tubes coming out of my stomach to drain the abscesses, the second round i was sent home with a drain tube still installed. About a week later I end up BACK in the ER for a 3rd time with MORE abscess, dr said he quit counting at 10. A few days later I undergo my first crohns surgery and get a fistula in my abdomin to help drain the abscess out while being on Remicade infusions (which lasted 2 years). Absolute worst experience yet! It called for me to have a colonostomy bag to catch the stuff draining. Where it was located is so close to my belly button so even though the wound care nurse said it wouldn't🙄, the bag would leak. I would go a few days then wake up in the middle if the night with nasty body fluids all over the place. DISGUSTING!! So after being in the hospital a total of 30'days within a month and a half, I finally go home. Now this fistula had to heal from the inside out and would continue to drain until it was fully close, a YEAR & 3 MONTHS later. Some days it would hardly drain but others I would have to change my bandage every 1-2 hours or it was leaking out all over my clothing.

Now fast forward to May 2017..