Share Facebook
Crohn's Disease Forum » General IBD Discussion » To begin taking medication or not, life of a mild case of CD

09-26-2017, 03:36 PM   #1
miragz10

To begin taking medication or not, life of a mild case of CD

Newbie here, so I was diagnosed with Crohn's in 2010 after experiencing awful fatigue, weight loss, debilitating stomach pains, etc, etc. Now 7 years later, I've yet to take any real medication (with the exception of Lialda the first year). As I've amazingly never encountered anyone else with CD, I am unsure of what to think of my symptoms. The past 7 years essentially the only symptom I've really had is diarrhea on a daily basis, typically 2-3 times per day. I'm very physically fit, attempt (poorly) to eat healthy, my weight is stable (6'0", ~170lbs), and I've had no medical complications what so ever. Every so often (3-4 times a year) I have flare (or what I perceive to be a flare) and experience some fatigue, though I can push through it fairly easily, increased trips to the bathroom, mild gut pains, and general loss of appetite. This symptoms generally last no more than a week and then I am back to normal, like I legitimately have no other issues besides the diarrhea. From what I can gather, and reading through my most recent bloodwork (DPT student), I have elevated inflammatory markers and low iron. I know inflammation is essentially a silent menace, but besides that, meh? I went to a new GI and he said he will likely put me on medication due to the inflammatory markers, but wants a colonoscopy to get a better idea of what is going on (I've had 2 previously). Based on this information, what do you all think of my seemingly very mild case of Crohn's, has anyone had similar experiences? And would you choose to opt-in on medication when you are really having next to no issues in life, and risk the possibility of side effects that may reduce QoL? Anyone who makes it this far, I appreciate the read!
09-26-2017, 04:54 PM   #2
finne013