• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Is anyone helped by large amounts of water?

I've had Crohn's for decades now, and one symptom that has always flummoxed doctors is my need for huge amounts of water - 6-7 liters a day. Without the water, I will have fatigue, intestinal pain, even increased heart rate. My water needs drop substantially if I fast, so my presumption is that this is caused by Crohn's.

Does anyone else share this symptom? Curious to get feedback from the crowd, as the doctors can't provide any explanation.

I notice that if I don't drink enough water in a day (i.e. at least 1.5 litres) then I get pain in my digestive tract/chest (I'm not very good at pinpointing exactly where pain occurs) that often borders on extreme. It's almost as though I need that much water to flush through whatever else is in there...

Bufford

I drink a lot of water, less now than in the past. Prior to colostomy surgery when my Crohn's was active and not being treated I drank close to 8 - 10 liters of water not including juice and coffee. After the surgery and with the disease under control I now need less, but still require 5 - 6 liters a day or I become constipated fatigued and generally feel awful.

Bufford, my symptoms mirror yours. I can't go anywhere without my water bottle. Never met a single doctor who could explain, much less treat this.

Curious how your albumin/protein levels are; mine are low.

I also need a lot of water, otherwise I get headaches and feel faint, ie typical dehydration symptoms. I drink at least 3 litres a day not counting other liquids. It doesn't really do much to my gut, only if I drink very little I get cramps.