• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Advice needed on seton placement.

Hi everyone,
I am really new to this and once upon a time thought that ignorance was bliss. To sum up from diagnosis (in 2002 or 03) I have been on azathiaprine, infliximab, methotrexate and thats all I remeber but is not the full list!
My perianal fistula first came about approx four years ago but my consultant tried his best to treat with medication rather than surgery (have to admit I was on his side)! However I eventually was referred to a surgeon who has placed a non-cutting seton. When speaking about this procedure he did mention that the fistula was complex and the fitting of the seton was therefore not straight forward. The only mention of cutting came with the consent form on the morning of surgery and the wording was "may require slight cutting". The other part was me consenting to the placement of the seton.
When I awoke in hospital my first concern was to get home and away from the risk of infection. When the surgeon came he informed me I could either stay in for obs or go home. I picked home.
I went away with instructions for the GP nurses on how to pack and dress wound. My first knowledge of size of wound was when the nurse removed 8 inches of packing from my rear end.
The wound started as approx 2 inches in diametre on the outside and approx 2 and a half inches deep. The wound was like a gaping hole that went in all directions not just a tunnel.