• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Anyone get tired/cold after eating?

Since I started showing more acute symptoms about 12 months ago I noticed that directly after eating (~20 minutes) I get very sleepy (not just tired, but "I need a nap" sleepy) and very cold. Without fail this always seems to happen; no matter if it is breakfast or late at night or even the amount of food I eat. After about 20 minutes of being tired and cold I revert back to how I felt pre-meal.

Anyone else have this happen to them? I'm completely new to this disease, so if this is as prevalent as abdominal pain as a symptom then I am sorry for asking the question.

Anyone know what this is about? Is my digestive system so dumb and inefficient that it sucks all the energy from my body to start breaking down food?

-JD

absolutely when things where at the worst. I would take 1/2 the food off my tray in hospital because I would be sound asleep when they came to collect the empty trays. It went away as I got better.

ameslouise

I'm just the opposite - hot flash after eating - but I think it's the pred...

Be careful! Don't fall asleep in our food!!

Astra

When I was on high doses of Pred, I got very icy cold hands after eating, but that's all gone now I've reduced
Are you on Pred?

This happens to me as well-- I get FREEZING cold for up to an hour after eating (and drowsy, but I feel like that is normal). By the time I finish my lunch break at work, I am invariably covered in goosebumps and my skin is literally cold to the touch. I hadn't linked it to my UC until now, will definitely be asking my doctor.