• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Lap bander with IBD

Hi, my name is Tami, and I'm new to the IBD community. I'd like to share my story, and look forward to your advice/feedback.

I had lap band surgery in September, 2006, which probably has nothing to do with developing IBD, but may impact the nutritional component, as well as treatment. I lost weight successfully, and am now at a normal weight, maintaining for 2+ years.

I started having severe diarrhea and stomach cramping in early October, 2008, just a week after my mother died. I went through various dietary changes and medical treatments through my PCP to no avail, before going to a GI doc in November. I had an endoscopy and colonoscopy at that time. The doctor said that my symptoms were more indicative of ulcerative colitis, but that there were cellular indications for Crohn's. He prescribed Asacol, but I never got it filled because the cost after insurance was over $600 per month, and I was hoping for remission without it. Shortly after that, I started having more severe abdominal pain, which was diagnosed as gall stones, and had my gallbladder out in December. Lo and behold, my IBD symptoms started diminishing, and became very manageable, and remained that way for over a year.