12-30-2015, 01:22 PM   #1
p2baa

Stoma Help

My first post, so please go easy and apologies if this is in the wrong part of the forum...

My wife has a stoma and it doesn't look right. She has been to hospital and seen a surgeon (not her usual surgeon) and he said it did not require any surgical intervention and to contact Stoma Care. Stoma Care came and seen her while she was in hospital and all they did was change bag and said to put some powder on it.

That is not very reassuring, giving what it looks like. She then tried to contact her usual team today for advice, but they said they had spoken to Stoma Nurse that my wife had seen yesterday and they were happy that the stoma was ok and that they weren't concerned and as she had seen them yesterday, they were not prepared to see her today.

Now I'm no doctor or Stoma Nurse, but I know when something doesn't look right. Wife has posted a picture of stoma on a stoma Facebook page and they have all said that it doesn't look right and that theirs has never been that bad.

We are now stuck with what to do. Hospital want help and we don't know where to turn to next? Anybody got any suggestions.

I can post picture of stoma if that helps, but not sure if you are allowed to do that on here.

Thanks.
12-30-2015, 01:50 PM   #2
DJW
Forum Monitor

My Support Groups:
· Stoma
Hi and welcome.

How long has she had her stoma?

If you are unable to post here the try posting in your photo album.
Just click on your name and you should find it.

If its new it will go through a lot of changes in the first year.

Visit Crohn's and Colitis Canada:
http://www.crohnsandcolitis.ca/site/...tis_Canada.htm

Living in Ontario with no drug benefits?

Trillium Drug Program:
http://www.health.gov.on.ca/en/publi..._trillium.aspx

Dave
12-30-2015, 01:55 PM   #3
p2baa

She has had it almost two years, although it was a non-functioning stoma for a while as she had an Ileostomy.

Here are pictures:

12-30-2015, 02:03 PM   #4
DJW
Forum Monitor