• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New Member here

Hi there. :smile:

I'm new to this whole thing so forgive me for being ignorant and not knowing many technical terms.

Anyway, I'm Liz - Im 21 years old and i've recently been told i may have Crohns Disease. I'm currently undergoing tests and such to get a diagnosis.

For the most of my so far short life i have always been ill. And right now this is really affecting me more than ever - I can't live my life properly like a normal 21yr old. When i say i am always ill, i mean, if there is a cold going, i will get it. If there is flu around, i get it. I have constant recurrent infections, such as ear infections, abcesses (2 months ago i had surgery on a perineal abcess).In the past year i have had to quit university and my job, due to absence.

I have recently had severe weight loss, abdominal pain (lower right side), strange faeces (soft, mucas, undigested food), anal fissures, I find myself constantly tired, I often have bad hot sweats, severe bloating after eating/drinking, aching muscles in lower back/neck/legs. I've always had really bad mouth ulcers.

In 5 days i will be going to the hospital to see a Gastroenterologist for the first time. What should i expect to happen here?

I'm really fed up right now. Thankfully i am fully healed from my recent surgery, but i am very weak and feeling helpless. I've lost 3 stone and being tiny anyway i couldn't afford it! :depressed:

Thanks for reading - Liz