• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

I'm new to chat rooms (are they still called that?)

Hello,
My name is Kirk. I'm 41 years old and have been living with crohn's disease for 32 years. I was diagnosed at around 9 years of age. I had a very emotional life after that with this disease. I rarely went to school, and had a tutor come to my house to teach me. I missed out on a lot of my junior high and high school years. I stopped growing, but all my friends kept growing. I sort of checked out of life and now at my age, am finally coming to terms with why I suffer so much from depression as well as this disease. I've had an ostomy pouch since I was 21. It helped with my illness, but created a whole new set of emotional problems for me. I have a wonderful wife who loves me just for who I am and has been a great listener and counselor for me. I'm very happy in my life now, but have a lot of baggage because of this disease. I'm still sensitive when people make short jokes to me, and having this ostomy (which makes all sorts of irreverent noises at the most inconvenient times). I know I'm fortunate as so many in this world have had so much worse to deal with. I don't just want to whine about myself. I guess I'm hoping to find another person out there that has had similar issues with this disease. Most personal stories I've read of other people don't seem to touch too much on the emotional impact of this disease, especially as a child with it.
Thanks for letting me just say what I needed to say.

-Kirk