• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

From Missouri

I'm 27 years old. I'm new to this Crohns disease I have been researching it online to understand it completely. I was diagnosed with crohns in January of 2010 they say I have a severe case of it. Also, my doctor stated I could have had it longer but since I didn't have insurance at the time I couldn't be checked out. I'm taking metronidazole 3 times a day, ciprofloxacin 2 times a day, pentasa (3) 3 times a day and azathioprine 2 times a day. I go back to see my gastro, Oct 6th he stated if I'm not better than I will be going to shots as well as the medications. On top of the crohns disease I have anemia. I have lost alot of weight as well I'm currently at 155 but I was at 130 I'm skin and bones. That's enough about me for right now I hate to tell strangers about my disease.

Hey there and :welcome:

Glad you found this forum - I just stumbled across it last fall and learned more about Crohn's in a few months than I did living with it for years! And I never knew what a relief it was to talk with other Crohnies - I also don't advertise to strangers that I have a disease, but talking to folks on here is a lot different - they understand! :D Are the meds you on helping you at all?

DustyKat

Super Moderator
Hi James and :welcome:

Like Inky said, this is a great place to talk about your Crohns, no judgements just good honest support and advice. I would imagine your anaemia is related to your Crohns and may be in one or two ways. Firstly bleeding, even if it isn't obvious you most likely have some degree of slow blood loss and if your Crohns is in your ileum then you may not be absorbing iron and B12.