• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

My UC Story (with a hint of military)

My story is really long, so bear with me please :)

Well, I joined the army last year, and I graduated boot camp and went on to my job training (we call it advanced individual training or AIT). Not long after I started my studies in Virginia, I began having some strange bowel problems. At first I dismissed them as food poisoning or something. I never thought anything was ever seriously wrong with me. And I thought it would pass soon, and I didn't want to miss class, so I never went to sick call for it (which is the normal place to go for minor illness or injury). Pretty soon I'd look in the toilet and see blood, and even still I refused to go to sick call since I could get dropped from class if I missed just 2 days of schooling. Not long after that, I stopped eating solid foods altogether in an attempt to let my bowels heal, which didn't seem to work at all. I started losing weight at an alarming weight, it became hard to stand, I was as pale as a ghost, and everyone thought I was dying.

After a while I went to sick call, but all I wrote on my sick call slip was "diarrhea, stomach cramps." I never put anything about blood or anything like that, I was too embarrassed. So when I saw the doctor (which I don't even think the doctors there are actual doctors with degrees). But he took one look at my slip, asked me about nausea and a few other things and gave me some pills that were supposed to stop diarrhea (for the life of me, I can't remember the name of the drug). So I took the pills, and when I ran out my bloody stools were still there...