• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Newbie Here!

I was diagnosed with Crohns/Ulcerative Colitis in 97, but have been suffering from symptoms since I was in 6th grade! I suffered with diarrhea and severe rectal bleeding and pain in my lower abdomen.....but doctors could never figure out what was wrong with me. I've gone through 4 rectal surgeries for fissures that would keep coming back and never heal properly and then I had my gallbladder removed as that is what the Dr.s thought was causing my abdominal pain and severe GERD!
So finally after finding out that low and behold the pain was still there after my surgery.......further tests were done and the Crohns was discovered!
After being put on Prednisone and Pentasa my Crohns went into remission and I didn't have any symptoms for several years. After having my daughter in 2001, my symptoms reappeared and I have been on a very painful roller coaster ride ever since! I have severe strictures in my small intestine and surgeons that I have met with refuse to do surgery to remove the affected part. I have been on prednisone to many times to count and have just now come off of it after being stuck on it for over a year and a half!
After my last stay in the hospital in Feb. 08, I have not been able to eat alot of solid food, mostly I eat yogurt, soup and drink instant breakfast. I dropped 25 lbs. in a matter of months......which was fine by me as I needed to lose some weight, especially since having my 4th major back surgery in June 07!