• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Welcome Kanata_Crohn's

Hello,

My name is Andrew, you can call me Andy.

I am a gymnastics and ball hockey coach and an aspiring personal trainer. I am in my third year of Human Kinetics at the University of Ottawa. I have been living with Crohn's for the past 9 years of my life. Which is just about half my life (I am 20).

The first 2 or 3 years after my diagnosis were rough while I was trying to find a medication to put me into remission. After 2 flares and an absurd number of tests for a scared 10-13 year old my doctors discovered Methotrexate. I have been taking MTX for the past 7 years and have mixed feels at this point.

In the past year I have started to have rough periods again (damn remission was sweet) and I am scared I may be beginning to flare. My digestion and Bms are scattered at best. Being in the 3rd year of my undergrad this can make life embarrassing and hectic but I try to keep on moving forward.

The gym is my temple and my release. 6 years ago I discovered my older brother's (who also has Crohn's although he was just recently diagnosed) weight set and slowly but surely began to lift. 6 years later I have found lifting, running, rock climbing and just about any other physical activity gives me an escape from this disease. Also gives the added bonus of putting on a bit of weight that seems to stick even when I have a bad week or weekend.