• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Work! (not Crohn's related)

Thank god Friday is a half day! Got off to a bad start when one of the kids (I work in a school) got a massive nosebleed before school even started. But some people have really got on my wick today.

Bit of background: all the infants- 4 classes, about 110 children- are put into 6 groups by ability for phonics sessions. Myself and another assistant take the extra 2 groups.

One of the teachers thought I should have more children in my group (I only have 8), because the other assistant has 16. And that's 'not fair'. But the other assistant uses the spare classroom, I have to work in a corridor! Also 3 of the teachers have groups of about 25, one teacher (who the other assistant 'belongs' to) has a group of 14. So surely rather than giving me more kids to even it out between us assistants, the teacher should take some kids off her assistant. After all, teachers have more qualifications and get paid more than us assistants do!

So we're having a meeting about all this on Monday. But when it came time to swap children round for phonics work, one of the teachers ('G') was doing something and wanted to keep her own class. So some of my group didn't come, and some children were waiting for G. So I took them into my group instead. So then G complained because I had children from other classes but not hers (I am supposed to be shared fairly between classes).

Oh, and did I mention I had to abandon my group anyway because another child (one of G's class of course!) got a nosebleed and I had to go and sort her out.