• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

My Story -or- Gastrointestinal Destiny

Hi there. I just recently signed up for these forums after a long while of searching for a Crohn's community online. If you have time, I'd love it if any of you would be willing read my story (Sorry if it's a bit long!)

I was diagnosed with Crohn's disease in 2006, when I was a sophomore in high school. My sister was diagnosed at almost the exact same time (a few months earlier), and my father had Crohn's disease also. To top it all off, my maternal grandfather had Crohn's also. It's like it was some sort of horrible gastrointestinal destiny! Despite how surprised my family and I were when I was diagnosed, when all the pieces came together we should have assumed such a diagnoses would eventually occur.