• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

My story 2

That seemed to work so Ill try again.

Hi all,

I have never used blogs before but have been hearing for years from ppl that i should join one to discuss my situation and finally it got bad enough that i feel no choice.

I first started getting symptoms when I was around 20 or 21 and studying abroad. I started getting terrible pains and diarea and lost 40 pounds pretty quickly. I went to drs there who didnt seem to know what it was. I came back to the states had tests done and was diagnosed with crohns disease.

I was recommended to go to Dr lichtiger in NY as he was supposed to be the expert. He tried me on all sorts of oral meds that seemed to be doing nothing. I tried pentasa, keflax, donnatal, bentyl and many others with no affect at all. He thought since my disease was most active in the spot where meds would be absorbed that none would work. We decided to try remicade injections. I was hesitant bec of the risks but didnt have any other choice. It worked and i was symptom free for about a year and a half!