• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Still Searching for A Diagnosis...

Crohnies -

Thank you for all of your stories and ongoing education, this group has been an incredible resource for me without even posting. I have been browsing the site since February 2010 and decided it was time to share my frustrating search for a diagnosis.

In September 2008 at the age of 27, I contracted a food borne illness that took its toll on me totaling 7 days of hospitalization and 6 full months of recovery. During that time I developed symptoms of Reactive Arthritis (ReA), which we all thought would resolve without treatment. The ReA and recovery continued to wreak havoc on my digestive system so a colonoscopy was ordered, inflammation skip lesions were found and the GI Physician mentioned Crohns after the procedure. However, pathology proved to be inconclusive and it was decided I did not have Crohns. The GI Doctor shifted from a tentative Crohns diagnosis to IBS, leading me to believe he was only guessing. After many other tests and an IBD serology, all of which came back normal, I quit searching for an answer and experienced a 'normal' year in 2009.