• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Dear dear friend seems to have suffered IBD for years

Hi all,
Thanks for building this great community, I'm so grateful for how powerful real, normal people + the net can be for something as scary, misunderstood and even downright dismissed as inflammatory bowel diseases.
I'm a biomedical researcher (immunologist-geneticist) and even though I casually read about IBD during my training (there are pretty nice experimental models of Crohn's in mice) I only got to actually learn about it in humans when I found out that the stories of a very close friend seemed to ring a bell about a long standing uncontrolled inflammation rather than years of bad luck with isolated gut infections and then additional bad luck with muscle and joint pain and rolling of the eyes from the rheumatologists.
Anyway, the more I learn the more I think he might have Crohn's but considering that is not great news and that I am neither his MD nor his wife all I can do is to suggest he go see if that might actually be the case.
It would be great if I could tell him "hey, I think what you have is this and I have here the magic pill that would cure you from it forever". But not really.
So I plan to be around here, learning about the best ways I could help him.
And I would probably be jumping in at medical/inmunological related concerns I might know about: the whys and hows and what-ifs for those of us who would like to get the whole picture and from it the possible ways to fix stuff.

Hugs to all. I really admire the way you carry yourselves around in here, so classy and kind and cheerful in spite of the pain.

susie

ameslouise

Hi Susie and welcome.