• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Fresh Meat

Hello everyone, just figured I'd introduce myself and get to know everyone a little better. It is my first time posting to a forum about the disease so this is all new to me. I was first diagnosed with Crohn's disease in April of 2009 while undergoing an Appendectomy. I had began feeling pains in my lower right side and a CT scan later my family doctor diagnosed Appendicitis which I had removed the same day. A few weeks later after recovering I began to experience similar pains and frequent bowel movements. Another CT scan later and a referral to the GI led to a colonoscopy which confirmed the crohns in the ileum and cecum. I was put on Flagyl and prednisone, then Dipentum which helped it go into remission. About a year later I began to have nasty flare ups which then led to the remicade infusions. In December of 2010 I was admitted to the ER with a Bowel Obstruction. And again recently in April 2011 another visit to the ER with an obstruction. I spoke with my GI and a Colon/Rectal Surgery here at Overlook hospital and I have elected to have a small bowel resection of about 10 cm of the Ileum. The area is narrowed by scar tissue and medicine at this point wont reverse the issue.

I am scheduled to have the proceedure this Friday April 22 at Overlook Hospital in Summit, NJ. I am a 23 year old male and I was just wondering if anyone else has gone through a similar procedure and what their experience was like. Thanks for having me on board!

xJillx

Your Story Forum Monitor