• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Surgery vs Biologics

Hello...I am new to this, so please bear with me. I was diagnosed about 12 yrs ago with crohns disease. I am 43yrs old. I have been on alot of the meds like pentasa, asacol, azathioprine(also currently on), antiobiotics, prednisone, entocort, etc...Had to have surgery for a fissure and hemmoroids because of all the bathroom visits....I was in remission for quite some time. about 3yrs ago I lost my insurance and well you can take it from there. No Drs, routine tests, and no meds. Well I finally got back to Dr, and with the routine testing I have a 2ft constriction, which started when I was first diagnosed. We all know that doesn't get any better and the meds are not working anymore. My dr and I discussed either sugery to remove the 2ft OR go on Cimzia and continue the azathioprine. He has upped my dose to 4tabs a day. I know surgery is not the fix all and that the disease can actually become worse after surgery, but after reading about the possible side affects of the biologics, I just dont know what to do. They are both a little scary....Any insight would be greatly appreciated....I wonder if I would be the lucky one and remove the bad part, start from scratch and hope for the best...

Thanks
Glo

Crohn's 35

Inactive Account